Home comforts

Hey guys, I’m Tiffany Weimer and welcome to my blog!

A little about me – I have just joined Portland Thorns in the NWSL after playing for Fortuna Hjørring out in Denmark. Throughout my career I have played in Finland, Brazil and Sweden but now I’m back home and getting settled at Portland.

I have been so lucky to have been able to travel all over the world, playing the game I love. It has certainly helped me not only as a player but as a person. It’s been a challenge but ultimately a pleasure to immerse myself in different cultures.

I loved my time in Denmark. I really began to feel a part of Danish society by the end, none more so than when we played in the Danish Cup final against Brondby.

Before the match, for one of the first times since I’d been there, they played the Danish National Anthem.  Of course, a national anthem from a different country won’t resonate the same as the one from your own, but I felt something when it was playing. I felt a sense of pride for the country of Denmark and its people. I saw my teammates and the opposing team taking great pride in singing the national anthem, and although I’m not Danish, I’ve been so immersed in the culture and its people that I felt I was allowed to feel the same way.

During the Cup final, which we lost 3-2in the 92nd minute, I felt what it meant to play for Fortuna Hjørring in a way that I hadn’t before. I had been so interested in the results (win or loss) that I forgot how much pride we had in our club. How much respect I had for my teammates and my coaches and how much love I have for the game. It was one of those things that pass by you so fast, that you almost don’t even get to enjoy it. But for a split second during the national anthem, I thought to myself, “wow, this is awesome…” and I almost felt as if I was Danish for a few minutes.

Being overseas for the past few years hasn’t been an easy road. It’s difficult when you don’t understand the language, and sometimes the culture can be vastly different from what you’re used to. The most important thing to remember is that there is no right or wrong way to live your life. The way the Danes do something compared to the way the Americans do it isn’t right or wrong, it’s just different. And that’s something I’ve come to understand with trial and error. It’s something that has become relevant to so many aspects of my life.

But now I have made the daring move from my “comfortable” life overseas back to the country I was born in. I’m now playing alongside the likes of Christine Sinclair and Alex Morgan. As one can imagine, it’s not an easy process to come into a team midseason, especially when you wear a headband. Everyone has established their place within the team, friendships have been made and, well, the new “kid” is almost 30 years old, and doesn’t like to dance.

I’ve had the opportunity to sit down and talk with almost everyone on the team. I’ve had the chance to get to know more about them than just what foot they’d like to receive the ball on. In my adjustment period, I’ve not only wanted to adapt to a new style of play, formation, coaches and environment on the field, but also the environment off the field. My teammates have inspired me to become more. I think that means they’re special people. I think this will be a good time for me.

Leave a Reply

