Two weeks in Manchester…

I must admit I never included “Spend two weeks in Salford Quays” on my bucket list, but that’s exactly what I’ve been doing since the beginning of the 2013 UEFA Women’s European Championships (think I’ll add it on just so I can tick it off).

I’m currently sitting in the back of my boss’s car heading down the M6 towards Heathrow. Our flight for Gothenburg leaves at 4pm today (Tues 23rd July) and I can’t wait to arrive in Sweden.

My next blog will be about the Swedish adventure but first to reflect on the past two weeks at the BBC studios, which are situated in MediaCity, Salford Quays, Manchester.

ae9f47f62ebdb751f3109fa754c62c1f

The first thing that made my jaw drop was the sunshine. Two weeks of sun in Manchester is unheard of so I’ve decided to personally take responsibility for bringing the fine weather with my sunny disposition alone (disclaimer: early mornings not included in sunny disposition).

In a nutshell, it’s been great! I think I’ve loved it because it reminds me of being on tour with my teammates.  Although touring with the Matildas never included 12-hour working days, no exercise, after work drinks or watching Gok Wan makeover women in under 45minutes…or did it? You know what they say, “what happens on tour, stays on tour!”

4ff5b9213047a8aac5d5433f9412186d

The BBC has been extremely welcoming and cooperative since we arrived and I think that has shown in the quality of programmes that have aired across BBC2 and BBC3.  The viewing figures have been pleasing to all involved and even though it wasn’t the fairytale ending for the England team, the interest has continued through to the knockout stages of the tournament.

This coverage is a big deal for women’s football in England.  We are constantly fighting an uphill battle for recognition because this country is saturated with men’s football steeped in history and tradition.

Women’s football still has a long way to go and I am a firm believer that we shouldn’t just be given recognition or coverage because we’re females, we need to earn that right, like everyone else does.

b553b6e21203d0f397c44099c81191c1

Leave a Reply

