Captain’s Blog: A Crazy week

A special moment: Photo provided by Gemma Bonner

A special moment: Photo provided by Gemma Bonner

To say it has been a crazy few days, would be an understatement. To win my first league title, make my England début and then win an award at our End of Season do, I could never have imagined this a week ago.

As I write this I’m feeling quite sleep deprived after celebrating on Sunday and then having a pretty intense media schedule on Monday, but it was all worth it.

This time last week, I found out in a team meeting that I was making my England début against Turkey. I can’t put into words how it makes you feel when you know you’re going to play for your country, it’s a great honour.

I spoke to the likes of Fara and Casey when I found out I’d be playing and they were great. They both have so much experience and for a young player like me, that is invaluable in calming your nerves.

I prepared like I would for a game with Liverpool, but about an hour before kick off, all I could think was “oh my god, I’m about to make my England début!”

One to cherish: Photo provided by Gemma Bonner

One to cherish: Photo provided by Gemma Bonner

The game itself was an ideal one for me to make my debut. It was a good win and it was a game where, despite Turkey not being the strongest, you had to concentrate for 90 minutes because we had most of the ball. It was a great feeling to play for England though. I’ve played a few times in behind closed doors matches, but the atmosphere was great at Portsmouth, so it was very different and great to see so many fans.

I had the Friday to reminisce about my début, but it was straight back to business on Saturday with our last training session before the title decider with Bristol. We knew we were favourites, but we were never going to underestimate them. They’ve been brilliant this season and we knew we were in for a match.

A lot has been made of the money the club has spent and the foreign players, but we’ve ignored that all season and I can honestly say the team spirit and the character within the squad played a massive part in our success. We played a great game on Sunday and when I had the chance to lift the league trophy, it’s without doubt one of the highlights of my career.

We’ve had pressure on us all season, but we’ve stayed right as a unit and I think we fully deserved to win the league. I won’t go into detail about the celebrations Sunday night, but what I will say is every player and every member of staff was out after the game – which really shows how close we all are and how much it meant to come out on top.

I think I crawled in about 3am, which probably wasn’t the smartest move by me, as I had to be up at 5am to go on the sofa for BBC Breakfast. I was meant to have two other teammates with me, but for various reasons (I think you can guess why) they pulled out, but managed to persuade Sarah Quantrill to come to my rescue as I was staying at her house.

It was quite daunting being on BBC Breakfast, but it was all worth it after getting a ‘well done’ from John Legend, who was on immediately after me. That morning I did BBC 5Live, BBC Radio 2, BBC Radio 4 and ITV, plus some local media – I was exhausted by the end of it.

I got about an hour’s sleep before heading to our End of Season Awards that night. I’m not going to lie, I struggled through it because I was so tired. I was lucky enough to pick up Manager’s Player of the Year, which honestly could have been won by so many of the team. I’m incredibly appreciative to have won the award and it caps a great season for me personally.

While at Anfield for the do, I was also honoured to sign the ‘International Wall’ following my appearance for England – there are some great names posted on there.

Some big names on this wall: Photo provided by Gemma Bonner

Some big names on this wall: Photo provided by Gemma Bonner

The foreign girls have now flown home and I’ll be concentrating on keeping fit and turning my attention to the World Cup qualifiers at the end of the month (if selected). As for Liverpool, we know the pressure will be greater next season, but with the Champions League to look forward to, I cannot wait

One thought on “Captain’s Blog: A Crazy week

Leave a Reply

