Jess Fishlock – It’s crunch time

Gearing up for the big game: Photo Glasgowcityladies.co.uk

Gearing up for the big game: Photo Glasgowcityladies.co.uk

So today we have a massive game against Standard Liege, and it was the Champions League that really attracted me to Glasgow City, so I cannot wait for kick-off. I won’t lie, adjusting to life in Scotland has been tough, not because its not a nice place or club, but because I came back from Seattle so tired. From a personal perspective, the season out in America was a successful one and I cant wait to go back at the start of next year, but I came back both physically and mentally exhausted because the game out there is so intense. It is hard when you go from a team that you have been with for eight months and you know each other so well, which was the case in Seattle, to coming into a team who have been together for a long time and have everything in place, like Glasgow do – so it was tough at the start. But I am in a better frame of mind now, especially when I play at international level, but physically I feel good and I feel I have a bit of an edge because of my time out in America, so I hope that explosive side I have added to my game will benefit both Glasgow and Wales.

 Photo by Winnie Ho.

Photo by Winnie Ho.

We have good players at Glasgow, which is good for me, because it makes it enjoyable when you play with players at a certain level – it makes training competitive and you can then take that into matches. I’m really excited about the games against Liege, especially as I haven’t been involved for a few years in the Champions League, which in my opinion is one of the best competitions in the world. We’ve got a good draw, but that doesn’t mean I’m saying it’s going to be easy. It’s not a Lyon or a Wolfsburg, so we have to go into the games thinking we can win them. I get posed the question about the potential of playing Arsenal in the last 16, but while it sounds very cliché, we’re only focused on the tie with Liege. It will be a great game if it occurs and I have no doubt there will be a media frenzy if it happens, but we don’t want to think ahead too far and Arsenal is not our focus. I’m really pleased with the situation that I’m in at the moment for both club and country, especially with the Champions League games with Glasgow and of course, the game against England at the end of the month with Wales. There’s been a lot of talk about it up to now and we’ve tried not to think about it because we had to play Belarus first and focus on winning that game, which I’m delighted we were able to do. photo England are the top seeds, very experienced and we are not on the same level as them – we could well be under pressure, but that’s ok. We’re going to prepare like we normally do, and the great thing is we know the England girls as many of our girls play against them week in, week out. To lead us out in a game where we could cause an upset, I am really excited for that, but it’s important we treat it like any other game. But for the moment, my focus is on Glasgow and our Champions League games, so fingers crossed we are celebrating once the second leg is complete.

Leave a Reply

